加入善衡

加入善衡

善衡書院每年錄取來自不同學系約150名學生,包括約70%本地生、約30%內地及海外生,共同締造一個多元文化、多國語言的「家」。書院不只著重學術成就,更重視與書院有相同理念、認同全宿共膳文化、有領導能力及其他才能的學生。

中大每個學院各有特色,你可能會問,爲什麽要選擇善衡書院呢?在善衡,你可以找到「家」的歸屬感,每個人都是書院的一部分,組合起來就是大家庭。你也可以在善衡這個「港灣」,裝備自己,為未來發展奠下堅實基礎。

新生輔導營

書院每年為新入學的善衡學生舉辦新生輔導營。新生輔導營的目的是協助新生適應中大及書院生活,書院亦特別為新生舉辦入學禮、師生共膳、遊戲活動,並向他們介紹宿舍生活及書院通識教育課程,以加強同學與書院成員之間的交流,增進彼此認識,讓同學融入「全宿共膳」的書院文化。

全宿

為鼓勵學生從生活中學習,達致書院育人為本的理念,入讀善衡書院的學生在學期間必需全期住宿。書院規模雖然小巧,但卻是一個集多元文化共融的社區。書院是一個居住了450名本地學生及150名國內及海外學生的「家」,致力讓不同文化及語言的同學得以共同生活、學習和諧共融,為學生締造多元社會文化及多國語言的生活環境。

共膳

為鼓勵讓學生從生活中學習,達致書院育人為本的理念,書院要求所有入讀善衡書院的本科生參與每星期共三晚的師生共膳活動,藉此機會與院長及其他書院成員共聚,在輕鬆親切的氣氛下彼此學習,分享生活點滴。書院分別提供以下三種共膳:師生共膳、文化聚餐及高桌晚宴。

獎學金

書院為鼓勵及表彰學業成績優秀和才藝表現傑出的新生,每年均頒發多項全額及非全額獎學金。獲獎同學若學業成績達指定要求,可獲續頒獎學金至正常修業年期。何子樑博士伉儷更慷慨捐贈六十萬港元,獎勵一名品學兼優本地醫科新生。

在學期間成績優異及課外活動表現活躍的同學可獲頒年度院長榮譽獎,而學業、品行及貢獻書院均表現超卓之應屆畢業生將獲頒書院最高之「文行忠信傑出獎」。

書院為擴闊同學的國際視野,鼓勵他們與世界一流的學府接觸,特設多項學術文化交流獎學金。本院還另設各類全人發展獎學金以鼓勵於體育、音樂、藝術創作、領導才能和社會服務方面表現優異之學生,全面配合書院全人教育的理念。

體驗式學習

千里之行始於足下,要開拓視野,莫如親身走進不同國家。善衡書院鼓勵學生從藝術、歷史、文化、學術、社會服務、運動等角度,深度體驗在地的風土人情,跟當地人交流,增廣見聞。歷年來,善衡學生的足跡已遍及世界各地,包括︰北極、撒哈拉沙漠、俄羅斯、以色列耶路撒冷、非洲烏干達、柬埔寨、越南、夏威夷群島、泰國清邁及清萊、台灣花蓮、韓國慶州及釜山、日本九州、新加坡,以及中國南京、敦煌和紹興等等,為生命寫下充實及有意義的一章。

書院通識教育

書院通識課程是書院教育中不可或缺的一環,而且是學生在書院生活中重要的一部分。書院正規的通識教育可分為兩大類,一類是為大學新生而設的啟導課程,另一類是為畢業班學生而設的結業課程。由2023-24學年開始,書院將逐步引入新的結業課程—服務學習課程(「GESH2011 服務學習課程 – 明理致用」及「GESH2012服務學習課程 – 踐行立人),促進學生的自我發展、培養學生的公民意識以及提高對社區的關注及參與。

Why SHHO

Why SHHO

S.H. Ho College will admit around 150 students each year, in which around 70% are from Hong Kong and 30% from Mainland China and overseas. We will admit students from all the faculties in order to establish a student community with diversity. Academic achievements of students are not the sole criterion of admission. We look for students who appreciate our missions and visions, and would fully participate in the College life through communal dining and full residency. Students with leadership and other talents would have an advantage.

Each College has its own features. But you may ask, why S.H. Ho College? At our College, you can discover a home-like sense of belonging. Every single person is indispensable. Together they form a big family. You can also equip yourself at this berth where you can build a solid foundation for the future development.

Orientation Camp

The College freshmen participate in an orientation camp every year. It is a College programme designed to help freshmen adjust to the College life and University life. An array of activities, including matriculation, communal dining, mass games, an introduction to hostel life and College General Education programme, are held in the camp to help students interact with each other and with College members, and immerse themselves in the College’s “full residence and communal dining”.

Full Residence

To help create a congenial learning atmosphere, the college requires all of its undergraduates to live on campus in one of two spacious modern hostels. As a relatively small multi-cultural community, the S. H. Ho College is home to 450 students from Hong Kong, with the remaining 150 coming from Mainland China and overseas. College life is carefully geared towards helping people from different cultural and language backgrounds understand and respect each other.

Communal Dinner

To create a congenial learning atmosphere, the College requires that all its undergraduates dine with the Master and other members of the College on three evenings each week. The College offers three types of dinner, they are Communal Dining, Cultural Dining and High Table Dinner.

Scholarships

To recognize academic achievements as well as artistic and athletic talents of freshers, the College offers numerous full and partial tuition scholarships every year. Recipients of matriculation scholarships will be entitled to renewal of their awards up to and including their graduation year if they maintain the required academic performance. Dr. Tzu-leung Ho and his beloved wife Madam Ho generously donate HK$600,000 for one local medical student with outstanding academic achievement and moral character.

The College Master’s List Awards are awarded annually to students who have shown excellent academic performance and actively participated in College activities. The College’s highest S.H. Ho Eminent College Scholarship goes to a graduating student who has made outstanding achievements in academic study, personal development and contribution to the life of the College.

To broaden students’ international horizons, various academic and cultural exchange scholarships are tenable in a number of leading universities of the world.

Finally, as part of the effort to realize its vision and mission on whole person education, the College also offers co-curricular achievement scholarships for students who excel in sports, music, artistic creativity, leadership and social services.

Experiential Learning

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. To broaden one’s outlook, there is no better way than immerse oneself in different countries. S.H. Ho College encourages its students to gain in-depth experience of local customs from the prospective of art, history, culture, academia, social service and sports in multiple contexts and interact with the locals to enrich their exposure. Until now, College students have travelled to different corners of the world, including the Arctic, the Sahara Desert, Russia, Jerusalem of Israel, Uganda of Africa, Cambodia, Vietnam, the Hawaiian Islands, Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai of Thailand, Hualien of Taiwan, Gyeongju and Busan of Korea, Kyushu of Japan, Singapore as well as Nanjing, Dunhuang and Shaoxing of mainland China. They have started a meaningful journey and turned a new page in life.

College General Education

S.H. Ho College’s dedicated general education programme is an integral part of the settled yet challenging life that you will lead as a member of the S. H. Ho College community. Formal credit-bearing general college education falls into two parts: an induction course for incoming freshers, and a capstone course for graduating students. Starting from the academic year 2023-24, the College will gradually introduce new capstone courses – College Service-Learning Courses (GESH2011 Service-learning: Bringing Knowledge to Life and GESH2012 Service-learning: Action towards Personhood), to facilitate students’ self-development and foster their civic-mindedness in creating changes in the community.